Mental-pausing

Posted on September 28, 2007. Filed under: Of Mind and Matter | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

They say that estrogen has an effect upon brain functioning and the lack thereof makes for some pretty astounding memory lapses. I don’t know about you, but I have had my share of searching the house for my reading glasses only to find them resting peacefully on top of my head, seeking endlessly for my car in the shopping mall parking lot, or forgetting where I left my ever essential date-book.

I seem to “lose it” the most when I’m performing routine activities and just drift off into my own personal inner space. (I’m not certain where this is, but I can assure you it’s well endowed with its share of black holes!) I can’t seem to remember whether or not I’ve already put conditioner on my hair, added salt to the soup, or thought to unplug my curling iron. Also, I’m forgetting names (embarrassing), losing words (equally embarrassing), and finding that I’ve been repeating myself a lot lately. And sometimes I tell the same thing over and over and repeat myself!

These temporary slips are bad enough but I’ve recently committed a couple of mega-blunders. More than a few times, I’ve left the house and driven to meetings or class without benefit of my purse. Consequently, I was without my driver’s license, my reading glasses, or any means of payment should I find myself in dire need of purchasing something. I’ve given workshops where I blanked on parts two and three of my six-part agenda and needed to call an early break to gather my thoughts. But, perhaps the time that bothered me the most was when I carried a load of towels into the other room to start the wash. As I opened the appliance door, I realized with a shock that I was about to load the dirty laundry into the dishwasher!

There are, nevertheless, some positive aspects to all of my forgetfulness. Many of you have heard me say this before (did I mention, I tend to repeat myself?) but I think my mental-pausing has served to increase my naturally optimistic outlook on life. Who can be regretful or sad when every day is a fresh start? How can one dwell on depressing events when her mind is consistently a clean slate? Who can worry about the past when she can barely recall beyond breakfast? So, I guess that, thanks to mental-pausing, my brain is becoming a blissful “little shop of errors” and it works for me!

Let us know your favorite lapses, gaffes, slips, and blunders. Sharing and laughter are the very best antidotes to any concerns over “brain-freezes” or “senior moments.” So, ladies, let’s have a few chuckles and a little fun with our midlife mind hiccups!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Mental-pausing”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Boy can I relate! The mention of the glasses on top of your head really hit home!

Amen! Amen! Amen! (oops, I’m repeating myself)
I thought of you when I started to put the milk away in the microwave instead of the fridge!

I love the phrase ‘mental-pausing’ Eileen! It’s perfect and sounds so much kinder, if you will, than a senior moment which makes me feel like I should be in a wheelchair in a home, wrapped in blankets wearing pink fuzzy slippers, with a bow in my hair — should I continue? I think not–thanks for the change in perspective!
~cindy

With my mental-pausing…I like to play a little game where, I describe it, and you name it!

I’ve been like this since I’ve been 40!
I’m now 47 but I often conveniently forget how old I am. In fact most days if someone asks me my age I automatically think I am 26 which is fine.
As a solo performer the memory lapses have been disastrous at times especially live on stage.
I used to think it was just nerves but later realised it was hormones. I’ve done entire gigs where I am smiling at the audience and telling them I can’t remember my songs and instead just chatting to them and wanting to disappear. Luckily I am not famous and it only matters to my sense of self-worth and professionalism. I’m sure other women going on stage with tons to remember must use HRT or drugs in these situations.
Memory lapses well I can’t remember what I did the past couple of years but I am remembering and chronicling the more distant past in detail and loving it.
I am sure writing about my memories from 25 years ago is both therapeutic and helping my brain from seizing up altogether.
Love and peace
born2rant

I am just grateful that I have friends who know me well enough that they can finish my sentences or fill in the blanks when I can’t recall a word. I love the term “mind hiccups.” And….how about that lack of concentration? Maybe the pharmaceutical companies need to develop a new ADD medicine for menopause. Maybe there is a new type of ADD that should be added to medical journals….ADD Menopausal Type!

One of my funniest mind hiccups was when I was
vacuuming and I was getting a little warm so I decided to put on something a little lighter.

I took off my clothes but forgot to put something else on and was vacuuming nude. LOL


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

