Time to “Strut Your Stuff”

Posted on October 9, 2007. Filed under: Inspiring Each Other | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Many of us have been taught that modesty is a virtue…

This may be have been appropriate when I was younger, as I often deferred to those around me and thought that was what “nice” girls did. But now, I’m ready to speak my truth—wait, I mean SHOUT my truth! I have a mounting urge to express myself in creative ways and leave some sort of mark that my life was of value and my thoughts are important.

Father Time is in large part responsible for these newly formed, and often intense, drives. I’ve lived enough years on the planet to realize that my time on earth is neither limitless nor a guarantee. The dewy days of youth are precious but they give us the illusion that we will go on forever. However, the years past fifty, those after menopause, can jolt us into reality and truly ignite our passion for life. “If not now, when?” becomes the question.

Therefore, it is with both sentiments of optimism and resolve that many of us contemplate this third stage of our lives (maiden, mother, and, now, crone). Freed from many of our previous external responsibilities (caring for children, growing careers, etc.), we can no longer look away from our own needs, passions, drives, and goals. In many ways, we are compelled to come to terms with our-SELVES and celebrate our beings in all the richness of our maturity. Yes, the years have helped to grow and define our essence as complex, multifaceted, wondrous, and uniquely phenomenal women. So, let’s go out, strut our stuff, and show the world!

In that spirit, I’d love to share the famous quote from A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Amen, sisters!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Time to “Strut Your Stuff””

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Hi there!

Hopped over here from our BB Diva Group and love your blog! Love the part in Marianne Williamson’s quote “You are a child of God….We are all meant to shine as children do…we were born to manifest the glory of God that is within us”…that is so true, throughout all the years of our life! Reflecting God to those around us, not to bring attention to ourselves, but to Him.

Have a blessed day!

Thank you, I need to remember that.
I am constantly putting myself down, because I don’t look the way I used to or think I should. I’ll try to be more positive.

I so agree that now is time to “strut our stuff.” We have worked long and hard raising our children, some of us working outside of the home, taking care of our husbands and many times without recognition. I am proud of what I have accomplished in my life and have since opening my business last year, have learned that I need to toot my own horn. So shout from the highest mountain, ladies, we have a lot to be proud of!

or as Winston Churchill used to say “modesty is a virtue of fools!” :-D


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

