The Magic of Menopause

Posted on October 16, 2007. Filed under: Menopause: The Big Change | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

For centuries, menopause has gotten a bad rap. This major change of life was considered by many to be the demarcation point of no return. Post-menopausal women were thought to quickly morph into feeble, old hags—no longer attractive, no longer useful, and ready for the rocking chair.

What a bunch of deprecating drivel that was! In truth, far from representing an ending, the biggest surprise of menopause is that, in many regards, this major biomarker signifies the beginning of a woman’s life. As older women, we are entering our most rewarding and productive years. Margaret Mead was right when she coined the term, “menopausal zest” and recent studies back her up. Women report many of their happiest, most dynamic, and personally fulfilling years to be those after fifty.

In reality, once we ladies hit menopause, our outlook alters, our needs change, our responsibilities transform, and we revitalize numerous aspects of our lives. As our estrogen stores drop, so does their inhibiting effect upon our body’s testosterone levels. We continue to manufacture testosterone after menopause and its influence becomes significantly greater than when we were ovulating.

So, forget the penis envy! In truth, we midlife gals typically become more male-like. A number of our attitudes and behaviors shift and we generally exhibit greater needs for independence, self-expression, and achievement. In other words, we sprout our chin whiskers, become more outspoken and self-centered, and start to go after what we want with full force and vitality.

Trouble is, for many of us, we aren’t quite sure what that is. We’ve spent so many years focused on caring for others that we may have forgotten our own dreams and desires. If you fall into that category, the following are a few questions to get you thinking:

What are the ways you see yourself growing and changing?
How are you honoring your own voice?
In which ways are you expressing yourself creatively?
What is your personal definition of success for yourself at this time in your life?
What are your markers for achieving that success?

As Louisa May Alcott once wrote: “Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.”

There’s no better time than now to go after your own!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “The Magic of Menopause”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

You are so right about menopause. I’m over fifty and I’m finally going after what I want just for me!

Amen! Especially with retirement, I’m
totally enjoying myself. I’m taking a class at the college for fun, attending concerts, going on trips, exercising, volunteering and spending time with friends and family. Life is good!

It’s so nice to know there are other women out there who are ENJOYING the men-o-pause! In fact, I’m enjoying the changes with MEN-o-pause SO much, my husband is a bit taken aback. So are my kids. My eldest daughter even commented to me one day- “geesh Mom, I think you’re carrying the enjoyment of your empty nest TOO FAR” hahaha
This ’cause I’m not spending three days a week at HER house, fawning over the grandkids!
Nope, I’m 53, FIT as a fiddle- I had a life before the kids, and I have that life back now. I’m wearing purple, I finally have time for all the volunteer stuff I want to do. For sewing, for “doing lunch” with my friends. For great weekend flash get-aways with hubby.
Bring on the hot flashes! I’ll save money on my gas bills! hahaha I’m not finding the menopause process all that bad. I think upping the exersize is the trick, ladies.
I’m finding myself feeling a lot better mentally and emotionally than EVER before.
No meds, bring on the hot flashes–I’ll save money on the gas bill! I’m NOT suffering from empty nest- but really ENJOYING IT.
It’s a great time and place to have been born a baby boomer! Life is interesting, to say the least.

Hello
I know this is a late comment but..I am going through an “early” menopause. My doctor wants me to go on HRT for my health however recently I am happier and healthier and more optimistic than I have been for the past 8 years. I have more energy and am recycling my life looking back and re-evaluating my achievements and failures and thoughts.I’m not so sure I want to go back to my old self!

I had a hysterectomy at 32 after having one child so addressed all the childbearing issues then. I am finding that I am expressing myself more now though, I am 52 and feel that I am more myself than ever before and my pet hate is women blaming the change for everything in their life. One lady I know even had a talk after her son approached puberty by saying she was in reverse puberty and that was why they all had to make allowances for her moods and quite destructive behaviour. Instead of making it about the boy reaching puberty and his issues it became about her negative issues.I actually did a blog entry on it today….but I won’t be blaming my entry on the “change”.

Eileen,

I was reading an article recently about testosterone in our bodies after menopause. When no longer inhibited by the estrogen, we do become more “male-like” in our approach to life and much my delight, our sex lives can kick into high gear. How can you complain about THAT??

I so appreciate all that you are sharing. It gives me such a wonderful hope and encouragment.

Wow, there’s someone else out there who is celebrating alll the positives about this wierd and wonderful time. THank you


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

