Seeking Wholeness

Posted on October 24, 2007. Filed under: Inspiring Each Other | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Do you realize that, once you turn fifty, you’ve lived 18, 250 days on this earth? That’s an amazing number—even for a milestone birthday. And, as we ladies become older, it is even more essential to our health and wellbeing that we choose to spend our days wisely and well.

Mary Jo Kreitzer, director of the Center for Spirituality and Healing at the University of Minnesota, shares her thoughts on aging in the article, A Good Age. “I think of growing whole, not just growing old. We’re all going to age. Growing whole is developing my full capacity as a human being.”

What a lovely shift to that stale and dispiriting paradigm society teaches us about older age. Rather than quietly shuffling off to the sidelines, Kreitzer encourages people over fifty to ask themselves the big picture questions, engage fully in life, and come into their “wholeness” with purpose and intention.

What do I care about?
What do I discern my purpose to be?
What are my dreams?
What would I do if I weren’t afraid?

As the great Betty Freidan once said: “Aging is not ‘lost youth’ but a new stage of opportunity and strength.”

Who better than us boomers to celebrate the second season of our lives with strength, intention, and the search for wholeness?

And, oh yeah, shakin’ our mighty tail-feathers with a healthy dose of that good ole’ hippie chutzpah!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Seeking Wholeness”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

I think the hardest part about dealing with
growing older is the concept, “Is this all
there is?” I am a licensed therapist and many
of my boomer clients feel disillusioned and
disappointed with the outcome of their lives.
I started a website also for boomers to
address those issues. You can get more
information at http://www.bummedoutboomer.com

Yes, I agree about the disillusionment. I purposefully got out of the rat race as a Boomer. While I see the hopelessness in people everywhere (“What’s the point?”) I take the position of observer, armed with a spiritual practice and continuing education to keep my perspective with a sense of wholeness. A willingness to have a little humor works, too.

Baby boomer women are strong, capable women, faced with new opportunities to find their sense of self. A whole new world has opened up to us, one where we can confidently pursue our dreams and set new goals. How great is that?

I agree!!! And I must admit that in a society that values youth, it’s important for us boomers to set a good example of aging and growth….do we want to groom a generation of women and men who don’t want to bask in the glory of the wisdom that comes with age? Or worse, have them dread their aging? What a horrible way to live life!
Great post. Thank you – I love those wonderful paradigm shifts and your writing.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

