Women Over Fifty—Can Do!

Posted on February 18, 2008. Filed under: Your Midlife Revival | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I had a terrible habit. Too many times in my life I responded to challenges by saying, “Oh, I’d love to do that—but I couldn’t possibly…” Thinking in those terms, I missed out on some pretty great opportunities over the years.

Then, something miraculous happened! I turned fifty and my inner spunk began to rise. My outlook shifted to “why not?” and, even better, to “why not me?” Yes, girlfriends, the life we create for ourselves does all come down to attitude. And, the years past fifty are a women’s greatest time to grab her very own brass ring.

As younger women, we often played supporting roles. We nurtured growing families and put our personal aspirations way down on our list. Now, with the right focus, the motivation to set and achieve goals, and a “can do attitude,” we truly will be unstoppable.

So, a gentle reminder, if you haven’t yet signed up for the free teleseminar I’m presenting with Raven Blair Davis, producer and host of Women Power Talk Radio, I invite you to do so. It’s called “The Seven Steps to Ignite Your Unstoppable Power,” and takes place on Tuesday, February 26th at 9 p.m. EST.

It’s time to turbo-charge your attitude, open up your options, build upon your dreams, and say, “I can” in the most definite, resounding, and unstoppable of ways!

And, if you haven’t seen this one yet, I’m inviting you to view a woman who’s definitely got her share of unstoppable power. Take a look and feel her passion.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Women Over Fifty—Can Do!”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Great post I so agree.

I took up piano lessons in my 40’s, but because of my busy schedule home schooling my kids and taking care of my husband and our home, I found it very difficult to keep up with.

Recently I made up my mind that I wanted to become a music teacher using a new method called Simply Music. In my discussing my dreams with a local music teacher he made a comment to me that went like this:

Me: I really want to play and teach music.

Him: Well, you can certainly try, but at your age, you’ll never play___________ (insert your favorite classical piece)

Me: You don’t know that, could try!

Him: ~ chuckle ~ Or not!

I sat burning with humiliation and thought to myself….”Oh yeah, you just wait and watch buddy”

I so agree with you on finding that spunk. I’ve certainly got a renewed sense of “You BET I can do that”

At 52 I went back to school to become and RN. I had worked in the corporate world for over 25 years. I love being in school, the field, and the challenge. And yes daily I am faced with the same attitude you got over the music. Interestingly, the hospital recruiters I speak to say they would rather have a bus load of grey haired women with passion than what they are hiring. From what I have seen the 20 & 30’s lack compassion and any drive to make a difference. They are there for the paycheck.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

