Women Over Fifty—Break Out of Your Bag

Posted on March 3, 2008. Filed under: Your Midlife Revival | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Most of us remember when the question of the day was, “what’s your bag?” This, of course, was the hip way of asking what someone did. And, it’s still groovy to have a bag; goals to aspire to and a direction to follow. But, when was the last time you reexamined your life’s path?

 Menopause is a huge biomarker in a woman’s life. It creates profound hormonal, physical, and psychological transformation in many areas of our lives. This extensive renewal and rebirth requires sufficient soul searching to be successful.

In her book, Inventing the Rest of Our Lives, Suzanne Braun Levine calls this deliberation phase “the fertile void.” Levine explains that taking the time for self-contemplation, rather than being an act of analysis paralysis, is a critical and indispensable element for aging successfully and with purpose.

 So, take some time to reexamine your bag. Are you living in ways that support what you value? Are you waking up with a sense of excitement and anticipation? Are you making an effort to stretch and grow in new directions?

 If the answers to any of these questions is “no,” it might well be time to take a trip into the fertile void, reassess what you want out of life, and break out of your well-worn bag (the one you’ve been in for years). After all, when you think about it, who among us wants to be referred to as “an old bag!”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Women Over Fifty—Break Out of Your Bag”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Goodness! I’m a 54 year old white male! What happened? Luv the above piece!!! thanks…tomvickers@suddenlink.net

Eileen,

Excellent post! I do remember those days…..”what’s your bag” or “that’s not my bag”

I just want to know when menopause will actually occur for me!! I’ll be 51 in a couple of weeks and I’m still tortured by that monthly cycle. I’m definately looking foreward to the big “pause”

Yes, I’ve come out of the menopause closet!!! Hallelujah!

Right on! :-) Seriously, excellent, excellent piece! Standing O!

Thanks for your comments! Your support makes me want to keep pushing my own boundaries… real proof that an old broad doesn’t need to have an old bag!

Well, even though I have the job of my dreams, sadly other areas of my life are not up to scratch, causing me to answer “no”…but, I have come to the conclusion there is not a great deal I can do until we change address, so am making the best of the situation. Once we have moved, I’ll truly be able to focus on putting everything else into perspective. Suzanne’s book will serve a great purpose to those who need to focus on their future, with a positive attitude.
Thanks for sharing this!

I can’t honestly say that every morning I awake with excitement, but I do believe I have more of a commitment and direction in my life now than I did even 5 years ago. Having so makes me feel that much more fulfilled as well. I enjoyed your post Eileen!

Well, I can certainly answer ‘yes’ to your questions. I can’t wait to come into my office to see what might have transpired overnight. I’m always full of ideas, new things to try, new things to see, just new things. I’ve stopped being a wallflower and am enjoying life without worrying about what others think of me. That’s the best part!

Well, I am on the shy side of 60 and about to re-enter the workforce. I am trying to reach a goal of being able to retire with a big paycheck. Any help out there for me?

I re-examined my life in 1996 when my father passed away. My mother had died a few years earlier and when Dad passed on I became an official “orphan”. I sold my house, moved into an RV and hit the road doing art shows.
This was momentous because I had to sift through not only 40 odd years of my accumulation of life’s bric-a-brac but over 80 years of my parents lives too. It changes the way you look at things when you cannot “take it with you” and I pared my life down to what fit into a motorhome.
For me it was the “first day of the rest of my life” and it had the effect of changing how I approached life and how I viewed the world.
It was a drastic step to take and I don’t recommend it for everyone, but it can free your mind, heart and soul to divest yourself of a lot of the world’s trappings.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

