Women Over 50—Simply Beautiful!

Posted on March 12, 2008. Filed under: Of Mind and Matter | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Last week I was fortunate to be able to take part in a teleconference called “The Beauty of Aging.” This really got me thinking—how lucky we are to be mature women at this time in history. As with so many other aspects of society, baby boomers are continuing our contrarian ways and totally transforming the look and feel of growing older.

Despite these sentiments, I do have to admit to my share of sags and folds, puckers and crinkles. Delicately put, things aren’t quite where they used to be. In fact, the mirror is reflecting “bad hair days” with distressing frequency and I’m into maximum coverage like never before. But, denial has its advantages and I’m all for overlooking the obvious.

I do believe that boomer women are entering our fifties and sixties with our youth culture intact and our spirit going strong. We are tapping into our inner resources, our penchant for rebellion, and our old gal spunk. And, yes, the world is beginning to take notice.

I ran across an article that never would have been written ten years ago, “The Five Hottest Female TV Personalities Over 50. Using the words “hottest” and “over 50” in the same piece, let alone the title, would have caused smirks of derision. Now, it googles near the top of the page.

So, let’s forget aging gracefully and vow to age audaciously. Let’s flaunt our fifty-plus beauty and celebrate our cellulite. As I mentioned in an earlier post, our generation is not known for being populated with shrinking violets. And, in truth, there’s no one edgier or more daring than a postmenopausal woman who refuses to be ignored!

If you’d like to listen to a recording of the teleconference on beauty and aging, you can phone (218) 936-1005. The conference ID is 339529 followed by the # key. It is free.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Women Over 50—Simply Beautiful!”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

That’s true – it would not have been written ten years ago. These ladies are great and I would not have guessed their age… :)

Oh yes! Let’s definitely change antiquated views on aging! Not just for us but for our daughters and granddaughters…..

I agree–bodacious and audacious! I plan on having style, flair, and pizazz. The older I get the more vivacious I hope to present myself.

My mother maintained her beauty and sense of personal expression far into her 80s, and I so admire her for that. I remember the beads and bangles she loved, and while other people played themselves dowh, she chose to stand out.

I think the key is knowing who you are, what you love, and embracing your unique take on life–and then creating that persona. Nothing like deep joy to transcend a face.
I heard this great saying,
“We all get the face we deserve.”
I want to deserve bright eyes, a big smile and lots of laugh lines.
~Carol D. O’Dell
Author of Mothering Mother: A Daughter’s Humorous and Heartbreaking Memoir

available on Amazon and in most bookstores.

Eileen,

You did an absolutely fabulous job as an expert on the call! You’re right! We’re not getting older—we’re getting bolder and oh, so much better!

I recently caught a clip on some entertainment news show of Cher, Oprah, and Tina Turner, all together, razzing the interviewer. It was great! What I loved about these larger than life diva’s was their ATTITUDE and celebrity status at the “advanced” age of 60+


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

