Women Over 50—Transition Part II

Posted on April 18, 2008. Filed under: Careers at Midlife | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Whenever a person undergoes any major life transition, there are typical emotional states that she will experience. We’ll now take a look at the second stage… the most difficult and painful part of the process. (If you haven’t read my previous post, please refer to it now so that you can understand the first stage and the beginning of the process.)

Once the initial shock has subsided, reality sinks in. This part of the transition process is often called, “the pit stage” and with good reason. People come face-to-face with the fact that life will be different. They frequently experience feelings of sadness and grief at their loss. Many will feel anxious and afraid and some will become withdrawn and consumed with worry. In the case of a job loss, people will often ask themselves, “Will I ever find another job I like?” Or, “How can I pay the rent and put food on the table?”

These are real concerns and we don’t want to minimize them in any way. One of the best methods to address such fears is to face them head on. In the case with finances, it’s wise to put pen to paper and write out a detailed budget. Which payments must you make on a monthly basis? Where can you economize? Who can you turn to if you need emergency funds? By putting your budget down on paper, you’ll take your fears from an amorphous, black cloud hanging over your head to a concrete plan. This should help to alleviate a number of your concerns and help you focus on other matters.

As far as finding a new position, you’ll want to do the same thing. Do your research, talk with people, get your resume together, and make a plan. How many calls will you make each day? How many resumes will you send out weekly? How many hours will you put towards your search on a daily basis? By writing out your action steps, you can provide a tracking process for your search. This will give you something tangible to refer to and will greatly help with any feelings of anxiety that the pit stage can bring.

And, finally, try to focus on your future with optimism. Many of us are advocates of the Law of Attraction, and we’ve seen how positive thoughts influence outcomes in our lives. So, track your successes, have confidence in your abilities, and chart your course. Success will be waiting just around the corner.

Be sure to come back and take a look at the third and final stage of transition; what to watch for and how to move forward on your very own path to a brighter future.  

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Women Over 50—Transition Part II”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Hello Eileen,

excellent advice. I’ve been out of the job market for many years since I married and had my third child.

My husband is heading to Bahram, Afghanistan this weekend for six months.

I fully expect for him to return, but you never know what things could happen and I think of these issues a lot.

How will I approach this? What will I do? This are real and important questions.

I think when we take charge and establish a plan it really helps to yank us out of the victim mentality and into the victor catagory.

I’ve never been unable to work when I put myself out there and gave it all I had. So, even though we are of an “advanced age” as some may put it, it does not put us out of the game.

We just have to jump back in and play ball!

Great advice Eileen. You’re so smart! :)

Hello Eileen,
This is great advice. I have starting the process of looking for work again. And I have just turned 50 Paril 22, 08. And I am like okay I have sent resumes out and networked with individuals. And no bites what is up with this. And then I just to remember that I will get the job when it is the job for me. I have to be patient and wait on God. So this is good stuff you are addressing.
Thank you,
Tally


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

