Women Over 50—Aging Bodaciously!

Posted on May 1, 2008. Filed under: Menopause: The Big Change | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

 

Those of you who read this blog know what a big fan I am of menopause. Studies show that the years past fifty are generally some of the most vital and happy in a woman’s life. The ratio of testosterone to estrogen shifts and we tend to get more outspoken, more assertive, and usually have a real urge to express ourselves in new and creative ways.

I got the opportunity to do just that when I appeared on our local ABC affiliate TV show, View From the Bay, talking about this very topic. In fact the segment was called, “Celebrating Menopause!” I realize that everyone might not use these terms but there truly is much to be grateful for at this age.

Menopause becomes the time when many women find the courage be true to ourselves in our full and abundant uniqueness. We are far less worried about fitting in or living up to the expectations of others and far more concerned with following our own heart.

So, go out and make this time your own. Take risks, stretch yourself, and find ways to be creative. In fact, why not get downright bodacious?! There never was a better time to follow your dreams and honor your SELF.

As Norman Vincent Peale once said, “You only lose energy when life becomes dull in your mind. Your mind gets bored and therefore tired of doing nothing. Get interested in something! Get absolutely enthralled in something! Get out of yourself! Be somebody! Do something! The more you lose yourself in something bigger than yourself, the more energy you will have.” 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Women Over 50—Aging Bodaciously!”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Your interview inspired me to post about the benefits of menopause and maturity on my Road to Diva blog this week.
I’ve found this time of life to be the best so far and said so on my post.
Love the Norman Vincent Peale quote, it’s so true. Passion about life makes you younger!

Eileen, Your interview was fabulous :-) informative and inspiring, too. You looked so great in your beautiful pink jacket and I learned more about testosterone. You’ve become quite the menapause diva, my friend!

“Menopause becomes the time when many women find the courage be true to ourselves in our full and abundant uniqueness.”

I don’t necessarily agree with that statement but I do believe menopause gives us a WAKE UP CALL and we can either walk in victory or hide out in misery. I’ve seen both sides.

I look forward to celebrating menopause. I think my body is still confused by behaving as if a 53 year old dame still needs to produce an egg every month. Still, I forge ahead inspite of it all to experience life in ways that I never have before. Hat’s off to all of my sista’s and kindred spirits who are embracing this unique transformation.

Blessings!
Athena

I’m sorry I missed Eileen’s appearance on TV. Her messsage must have been inspiring to motivate a “i’m looking forward to menopause” comment and a blogpost about its “benefits.” Frankly speaking, I haven’t discovered any benefits. We all reach a point of maturity – usually in our 50s — when our values shift and we experience a sense of relief and new-found freedom that marks a new chapter in our lives. I don’t see the connection between a change of attitude & perspective with menopause, however. It’s more like a coincidence with the physical changes that we experience. Like most of my friends, I have just been focused on trying to feel better – without going on hormones. When I’m able to get enough sleep (without continual hot flashes waking me up), I have a lot of energy and feel great. That’s when I feel I can conquer anything.

You were awesome on the show and represented the Divas glowingly! I couldn’t agree with you more. The someday I’ll go for my dream is NOW. Someday is here. You go sister.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

