Women Over 50—My Cyberspace Friends

Posted on June 13, 2008. Filed under: The Joys of Friendship | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Yes, I admit it. I used to scoff at the young and technically savvy who went on about the “friends” they met over the Internet. “Friends?” I asked. “How can you call someone a friend when you’ve never even met?”

Well, I’m here to tell you that I have totally reversed my opinion on that one. In the past several months, since I’ve started blogging, I have become acquainted with some absolutely amazing women. Although we haven’t yet met face-to-face, or even spoken on the phone, I consider these ladies my friends. Some have left wonderful, uplifting comments on Feisty Side of Fifty. Some have linked to various posts I’ve written, and some have gone so far as to award me the honor of being a guest blogger on their sites.

However, there is a very special group I’d like to mention. The Baby Boomer Divas, a.k.a. Boomer Diva Nation, is an incredible pool of powerful and accomplished women—most of whom have already celebrated their half-century birthdays. Although they are all in midlife, the group is rich in diversity. The ladies hail from differing backgrounds, careers, and geographical areas, and from different races, ethnicities, and religions. The common theme is one that their leader, Beverly Mahone, stresses: women on the move and making a difference.

Mahone, who is a veteran journalist, author, media coach and motivational speaker, has written her own book on the many facets of aging. Whatever! A Baby Boomer’s Journey Into Middle Age takes a candid look at issues such as weight gain, menopause, and dating after forty, among others. After twenty-five years in radio and television, Mahone chose to become a work-at-home-mom. She now acts as a media consultant and counsels individuals as to how to best market themselves to radio, TV, and newspaper professionals. She’s a recognized expert on all things Boomer and has a radio show targeted to boomer women.

It is with great pleasure that I claim this talented and accomplished woman as my friend. She gifted me with an invitation to join the Boomer Diva Nation several months ago and, since that time, my life has changed… and all for the better! Through these ladies, I’ve been given wonderful and exciting opportunities to stretch myself personally and grow my career in new directions.

Beverly’s most recent gift to me was an opportunity to appear on her radio show, Whatever Live! I enjoyed the experience immensely—actually it was a blast. Beverly’s combination of professionalism, wonderful energy, and engaging personality make her the consummate radio host. I’d love to have you take a listen.

Yes, cyberspace or face-to-face, nothing beats a warm and caring friend. 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Women Over 50—My Cyberspace Friends”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

You are just one of the many women that I have met through the Boomer Diva Nation that I am proud to call friend. Kudos to Bev for bringing us all together. It’s great to have so many new cyber-girlfriends.

Who would’ve thunk a few years ago that a group of vivacious, talented, savvy women would connect together on the internet and turn out to be a wonderful support base for each other. It wasn’t that long ago that I didn’t know much about a computer and now here I am surrounded by some great woemn.

I’ve been saying God knows how to connect the dot.coms and I’m sure glad He led me to California! Have a wonderful vacation!

Often when you connect with someone on the internet you end up meeting them in person sooner or later.

I have forged quite a few really strong friendships with other women that I would never have met in the “real” world because of our geographical locations. I have friends in other cities and states and even in other countries as a result of the internet and the diva boomers. I doubt I would have met these people in the real world had I lived near them, but because of common interests we met in cyberspace!

I love the connections I’ve made online with women through writing, my coaching practice, and my blog. And they are friends–even though I could be standing next to one of them in Safeway and not recognize her. I’ve reconnected (after 30 years) with a good friend from high school. If it weren’t for cyberspace, our paths would never have crossed! It’s been delightful to catch up on her life, family, and ongoings in the town I grew up in.

Cyberspace has chnaged lives, that’s for sure–now for my cyberspace treat–to listen to you on radio!

I couldn’t agree more. Some cyber friends come and go, but there are those that remain. I have one such friendship that is now a decade old. We have never met, but our friendship is as real as any that I hold precious in “real” life. :)


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

