Women Over 50–My Bottom Line

Posted on July 12, 2008. Filed under: Aging With Attitude, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

For those of you who are regular readers, you know that I’m all for celebrating growing older. Many women report that their happiest, most productive years are those past fifty. As far as I’m concerned, I’m more confident, more outspoken, and more assertive than ever before. I guess you might say that I’m feisty!

Nevertheless, there are some joys of youth that I miss—especially in summer. Remember going to the beach with your girlfriends, holding hands, and watching the waves slap the shore? What a delight!  

And then as you grew into your teens and twenties, the summer took on a whole new meaning. With short shorts and halter-tops, it became the season for flirting and hoping to attract that perfect beau who would set your heart to pounding.

And now that we boomers find ourselves on the far side of fifty, what does the season of sunshine bring to us? Actually, it’s a chance to return to our childhood and, once again, frolic in the waves. The view might be a bit different but the fun’s still there.

And that’s my bottom line!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Women Over 50–My Bottom Line”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

Well, since we can’t go backwards, all we can do is laugh :-)

How funny! I was looking at old photos with my daughter while I was in Corpus Christi and there’s a shot of me on the beach in Hawaii approx 26 years ago that looks quite a bit like the middle photo. And a couple of pages over is a picture of us all at the lake last year – which looks a bit more like the bottom photo!

Th only way I’m bending over at this point in my life is to pick up a DIAMOND and it had better be so visible I could spot it a mile away!

http://www.talk2bev.blogspot.com (Why we love diamonds)

When I was seventeen
It was a very good year
It was a very good year
for small town girls
And soft summer nights…….

When I was thirty-five
It was a very good year
It was a very good year
for blue-blooded girls
Of independent means……..

But now the days grow short
I’m in the autumn of the year
And now I think of my life as vintage wine
from fine old kegs
from the brim to the dregs
And it poured sweet and clear
It was a very good year

Frank Sinatra, It Was A Very Good Year

You are the queen of images! Love the way you use them with your text.
Always learning,
Sue

Yes…we can delight in moments of enjoying who we’ve grown into, reminding ourselves to create new playful opportunities at every turn.

It’s our time to let go of “mistakes” and free ourselves up to choose to enjoy our lives.

what i remember most fondly was that feeling of walking into a dancehall with your pals and hearing the throb of the music and knowing it was full of good looking fellas, oh happy days !.

Thanks for those photos.
Go Boomers!!!!!!!!!

Bear((( )))

Oh me! I think this was taken while I was on the beach. I can assure you I wasn’t in the perfect bod one. LOL The bottom line is have fun, no matter what age you are. Fun is ageless, like us!

I know I never looked like the middle photo, even at 18, but so what! I still like the beach and having fun.

You are too funny, Mary Eileen–your sense of humor keeps us guessing as to what you’ll tell us next!

And, like Bev, I’m not bending over for anything smaller than a diamond — the Hope Diamond! Oh dear, booming right along….

I had a good laugh when I read this post! I don’t ever recall looking as good as that middle picture though :)
Thanks for the great article!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

