Women Over 50—Our Friendships Run Deep

Posted on August 1, 2008. Filed under: The Joys of Friendship | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

By the time we reach fifty, we’ve gone through a lot. We’ve lost loved ones to death and through the breaking of relationship ties. We’ve endured injured pride, damaged self-esteem, and crushing disappointments. We have sustained significant blows to the ego through painful experiences of rejection. And, we’ve seen our nest empty, watching our loved ones and ourselves grow older. We need our friends now more than ever!

There is strength in numbers; there is power in the union. How many times have we struggled with a problem and, just as we throw up our hands in frustration and near-defeat, a devoted friend comes up with the perfect solution. Often we are too close to our own issues to be able to see them clearly. A good friend, however, cares for our best interests and, at the same time, is one step removed. She can see the big picture, stand up for us when we can’t stand up for ourselves, and make sure our needs are met—or, at the very least, provide us with a really good laugh.

In fact, there is scientific proof that friendships play a vital and critical role in the lives of women. Repeatedly, studies have shown that those ladies with very few or limited friendships are not as healthy—nor do they live as long—as others who enjoy a wider circle of supportive friends and deeper, more meaningful relationships.

As the writer, Christi Mary Warner, once remarked, “A friend is one who knows all about you and likes you anyway.” What a blessing it is to find acceptance and love for our authentic selves, imperfect and flawed as we may be. In fact, rich and deep friendships that have endured over time may be the greatest gift our years bring us. So, as we enjoy the lazy, hazy days of summer, why not share the sunshine with a good and true friend?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Women Over 50—Our Friendships Run Deep”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

I like this saying “A friend is one who knows all about you and likes you anyway.”
And I am definitely going to share it.
Thank you.

Bear((( )))

I couldn’t agree more. I had no sisters, so my girlfriends really took their place. My long lasting friendships have taken be through marriage, divorce, death, birth and everything in between. Good listening without judgement is what I truly value.

I still keep in touch with friends I’ve known since elementary school. We have so much history to laugh about and share and it’s good to know when I’m really in need of a good friend, I have someone to turn to.

I love this post! My friends are so special to me. Thank you for reminding us that friends are a blessing and a treasure in our lives.

This post just made me feel warm and happy!

I am a good friend, and love my friends deeply.

One of the biggest points that I bring to my clients is the need to learn to make and keep good friends in order to feel safe and happy in the world.

Just last week, I started a socialization and support group for clients and people in the community with fears, phobias, ADD, OCD, and more. I find that when clients have more social interaction (including with animals), they get better. I used meetup.com to set this up, and had the first meeting. I saw major improvement already in a few clients. They met people that they can talk to easily, with similar issues.

Wonderful to read another of your great posts!

Sally
http://www.drsallywitt.com

Truer words were never written – if it weren’t for my friends I doubt I’d still be around – for many reasons!
But I prefer the phrase “A friend is one who knows all about you and accepts all of you – the good and the bad – because they know that is what makes you You!”

What a beautiful post and picture…is that you? Yes, you’re right, we’ve been through so many things in recent years, and there’s nothing like a good friend to share with that knows just what you’re going through.

Eileen, I couldn’t agree with you more. I have friends in my life now who have been a God send in so many ways. My Boomer Nation Sisters, are accepting of one another and the encouragement is priceless. Good topic!

Eileen,
What a beautiful post! You are so true. It has been my girlfriends who have seen me through so many difficult times in my life. And they have been there to celebrate the wonderful happenings. My aunt told me once a long time ago that “children grow up and move on, husbands may come and go (hopefully not!), but girlfriends are forever!” And I’m happy to have found a whole new group of friends in my Diva sisters!

What would we do without our friends and where would we end up? My friends have pulled me through some bitter days – what a blessing …angels who laugh with us, let us cry, and be ourselves. It’s sure nice to let it all hang out with my girlfriends!

I to have a very good friend, we met in school many years ago, we’ve both moved away, but we still keep in touch, you always know a true friend, and she is my true dear friend.

This post is so lovely! I’m sure we all appreciate what having friends means, and appreciate everything that they are and do for us. Having a community of women who want to reach out and make friends across the nation is what we’re about at http://www.womenetcetera.com. I hope you’ll become a friend too!

I don’t know what I would do without my tried and true friends. I find myself wanting to increase my circle of friendship as I grow older. Incidentally, do we have any ladies here close to Roanoke Rapids, NC? If so, let’s have tea! :)
Rita


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

