Women Over Fifty—Olympic Fever

Posted on August 20, 2008. Filed under: Inspiring Each Other | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

The Olympics can truly bring the world together as we celebrate with pride and excitement the amazing feats of our young athletes. Yes, as with the case of the not-so-young Dara Torres, who I featured in my last post, they can inspire each of us to work towards goals and achievements of our own.

If you’re over fifty, you can probably remember the thrill of viewing the Winter Olympic Games of 1968. Of all things, they were beamed by satellite from Grenoble, France and we could actually witness events as they unfolded. What an astounding display of technology!

Jean-Claude Killy won three gold medals for alpine skiing events. And the darling of our generation, Peggy Fleming, won the only gold medal for the U. S. that year.

However, I’d like to draw your attention to another athlete. This young star, who performed in 1988, has gone unheralded for the past several decades and I’d like to give this gymnast some richly deserved and long awaited accolades for a job well done. The video takes about three minutes to view and, I promise, you won’t be disappointed!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Women Over Fifty—Olympic Fever”

RSS Feed for Feisty Side of Fifty / Baby Boomer Women Comments RSS Feed

That was funny! Did this actually show on TV because I don’t remember it or remember hearing anyone talk about it.

I’d like to train under Paul Hunt…he’s my kind of athlete!

On a more serious note, Dara Torres is an inspiration to women everywhere, don’t you think? One of the things I so enjoyed about the Olympics was listening to the athletes talk about their passion–we Feisty Side of Fifty-ers all take a lesson from today’s youth–and let it ignite our own passions!

I hadn’t seen this before, that is so funny.
Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Bear((( )))

That was a great video. Adding some humor and spoof! The Olympics can be very intense at times. I would like to see a lightened up interlude!

Jean Claude Killy – now that’s a name I haven’t heard in ages!
That video was hilarious! I didn’t watch the 88 Olympics – I would have remembered that! He reminded me of Charlie Chaplin – despite the dress!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

